Built to Last
Arnprior’s cultural heritage is evidenced in the churches, homes, commercial buildings and institutions, which reflect its economic, social and historical development – much of it owing to Scottish settlement and the development of great lumber mills.
First settled in the early 1800s, the town’s growth was spurred in 1825 by the arrival from Scotland of 100 families and their leader Laird McNab. The community grew again in the mid-nineteenth century with the development of the lumber industry promoted by Daniel McLachlin.
Today, the town boasts dozens of homes and businesses – many of which merit heritage designation – dating back to Arnprior’s early settlement. For instance, The Emmanuel Anglican Church was built in 1869 on land donated by Daniel McLachlin. The recently revitalized St. John Chrysostom Church was constructed before 1873. In 1890 St. Andrew’s Presbyterian – the Stone Church, was built. It is now home to the Grace St. Andrew’s United Church congregation.
In the downtown core there are many buildings dating back to the mid- and late-nineteenth century. These include the O’Brien Theatre, Guardian Drug Store, The Campbell Block, the Bank of Nova Scotia, and Arnprior’s most famous edifice, the D.A. Gillies Building, which houses the Arnprior and District Museum.